http://www.ldpride.net/learningstyles.MI.htm#Learning%20Styles%20Explained

Learning Styles, Learning  Strategy, and Multiple Intelligences

Learning Strategies

http://edweb.sdsu.edu/courses/ET650_online/MAPPS/Gloss.html

Invite to fellow students: This is my results of two of the free tests available to determine my personal learning style. Have to admit that I am not clear what the distinction in the two terms are, because according to this source, the two measure the same things? I think it would be really interesting if  my classmates would like to also take the tests and then send their results to me or post them somewhere I can get them to me to compile and share a little study of the “group” which is our class.

There is an indication that I learn more and contribute more and are probably motivated more from interpersonal communication than other factors. My lowest scores in music and math, and higherst were visual perception and intrapersonal communication.  I have been so instrospective this last few weeks, and thanks to the “insights” from my friends who commented on my art work and my blog about it, I have progressed as far in the process, I think what I have learned is that the factor of “reward”, might be something I need to address. To be self motivated to do something you don’t have to, and might argue don’t need to, the question of “what is the point” is a valid question. Just not one to waste too much time on.

So in the soul searching question of “why do I paint”? Maybe the pragmatic answer is just that it doesn’t give me the “reward” that I need, or want or expect?  At least not enough to equal the aggrivation. Knowing this doesn’t seem to cause me to drop this bad habit?

http://www.ldpride.net/learningstyles.MI.htm#Learning%20Styles%20Explained

This is a great website for anyone who would like a through catalog of all the teaching strategies along with a through description and models. This is a list of 24 stategies an Instructional Designer.

Teaching/Learning Strategies

Brainstorming          Buzz Groups                     Case Study

Concept Models       Construction Spiral       Discussion

Elaboration               Forecasting                      Forum

Jigsaw Technique     Listening Team              Live-Link

Nominal Group        Panel                                 Peer Teaching

Problem-Solving      Reflective/Evaluation   Relation to current events

Role Playing             Round                               Simulation

Storytelling              Surveys                             Video Analysis

Here are three of the stragegies that I thought would apply to my own experience and I have used.

Brainstorming– Develop general ideas; encourages a group of people to think creatively about a topic. Open informal way to address innovative, unique, or untried ideas and traditional ideas are equally considered. Only limit is to pick a topic for exploration and stick to it.  This can be fun, but can also get off track and waste time. The trick for the instructor, or if this is a single students creative process, is to have a goal to make a decision about.

Buzz Groups – a small group of learners are temporarily working together for a short period to address a topic presented by a facilitator. If there is a large group, then break down the size of groups, and create a series of sub groups. The nice thing about this process with the tools we now have, this can be done via phone/internet meetings. The groups can discuss aspects of a project or problem or topic, and then compare viewpoints and exchange digital data.

Case Study – An analysis of an actual event or situation. Case studies present “real” studies in visual form sometimes, or with samples, images, references to online data others can benefit from,  getting information from the internet of situations with facts, objective information, or data. Learners analyze the case study to interpret, predict, and resolve issues associated with the case study.

Adult Education

With the understanding of how the defnition of  “Adult Student” has to deal with many other life pressures than a “Traditional Student” from practical experience of both an instructor and a student, it is my mission to help create better learning materials for the people, like myself, who take the term “lifelong learner” to heart. The reason I am participating in this class has more to do with understanding how to make the theory and production aspects of creating the new, more interesting, training programs. We have been working on aquiring an overview of what has been going on in the Educational Theory and how that works for human nature, pro and con. All of this is a small part of what the Instructional Designer has to know in order to produce a good program design. Using it and the computer and video production techniques, new software are my next adventure.

Leave a Reply

